



651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor • Martinez, CA 94553-1229 e-mail: LTexe@lafco.cccountv.us

(925) 335-1094 • (925) 646-1228 FAX

January 12, 2011 (Agenda)

January 12, 2011 Agenda Item 12

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 651 Pine Street, Sixth Floor Martinez, CA 94553

Expiring Commissioner Terms in 2011

Dear Members of the Commission:

This is an informational update regarding Commission terms scheduled to expire in 2011.

The Cortese Knox Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 (CKH) includes provisions relating to the composition of LAFCO. In addition, the Commission has its own local policies regarding membership.

The Contra Costa LAFCO is composed of two regular members representing the County, two regular members representing cities, two regular members representing independent special districts, and one regular member representing the general public. Each category on LAFCO also has one alternate member. All terms on LAFCO are four years and expire the first Monday in May.

In accordance with the CKH Act and local policy, appointments for the regular and alternate members are made as follows: for county members by the Board of Supervisors; for city members by the City Selection Committee through the Mayor's Conference; and for special district members by the Special District Selection Committee through the local chapter of the Special Districts Association. Per the CKH, the Commission appoints the public members. Selection of the public members is subject to an affirmative vote of at least one Commissioner from each category (i.e., county, city, special district).

In May 2011, the terms of two Commissioners will expire: city members Rob Schroder (regular) and Don Tatzin (alternate). LAFCO staff will coordinate with the City Selection Committee regarding the upcoming appointments.

A full listing of the expiring terms for all Commissioners is presented below:

Commissioner	Appointing Authority	Term Expires
Vacant	City Selection Committee	May 7, 2012
Rob Schroder	City Selection Committee	May 2, 2011
Don Tatzin (alternate)	City Selection Committee	May 2, 2011
Federal Glover	Board of Supervisors	May 5, 2014
Gayle Uilkema	Board of Supervisors	May 5, 2014
Mary Piepho (alternate)	Board of Supervisors	May 7, 2012
Dwight Meadows	Special District Selection Committee	May 5, 2014
Vacant	Special District Selection Committee	May 7, 2012
George Schmidt (alternate)	Special District Selection Committee	May 5, 2014
Martin McNair	Commission	May 7, 2012
Sharon Burke (alternate)	Commission	May 7, 2012

Please contact the LAFCO office if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

LOU ANN TEXEIRA EXECUTIVE OFFICER